Dantalian no Shoka 06

OMG, this episode opened up and I literally thought I was looking at the wrong show.  I double checked and triple checked, then the OP kicked in and I assured myself this was Dantalian.  It’s amazing how those two characters at the beginning looked like regulars from another show (any other show) that I don’t want to be watching right now.

Anime has gotten so confusing that I couldn't tell if this was a boy or a girl at first.

All the voice actresses playing men in anime have got me really confused.  I really don’t know if feminine characters with funny voices are supposed to be men who look like women or women pretending to be men.  In this case, it’s neither!  Flamberge is a woman that’s supposed to be woman, but they’ve gone and given her the type of voice that male characters played by female seiyuu in shonen anime have, so it’s plain baffling.  Flamberge even grins in the shonen style (i.e. toothily).

I think the general setup of this new pair (Hal/Flamberge) makes for an interesting contrast with Huey and Dalian.  Hal’s distaste for books is a very reasonable outcome of contact with so many evil tomes, and his keeping Flamberge chained up is a nice touch.  However, IMO the characterization of the two is awful.  We’ve seen the cold, methodical fellow and his sarcastic sidekick bit too many times, and the fact that they keep sparring with the same accusations and even the same insults makes this even more boring.  I enjoyed the story in this episode but I found myself wishing it was Huey and Dalian working the case and not these two.

The lore elements were awesome as always.  Once again we have a Daoist motif with the doll-making book, but what really surprised me was the reference to the Norse mythical giant Surtr at the end.  That Hal somehow has gotten a hold of Surtr’s staff is silly in the extreme, since the whole point of the tale is that at the end of Ragnarok Surtr burns the whole universe with it, so the staff should have been destroyed as well.  But I love Norse lore so the fact they mentioned Surtr is cool anyway.

All in all, it was a good episode and I applaud Dantalian for once again defying all our expectations: who would have thought they’d suddenly spring a whole episode without Huey and Dalian on us?  And though I missed them, the story was strong enough and Hal and Flamberge (despite it all) were colorful enough to make it work.

Now, what would I do with this phantom book?  Easy.  I’d raise about 100 people first, have them work really hard to earn us lots of cash.  With that money, I’d buy a whole lot of land.  There, I’d raise 900 more people and build a town.  I’d call myself King, mint my own coins, the whole works…

~ by animekritik on August 20, 2011.

23 Responses to “Dantalian no Shoka 06”

  1. Koshimizu Ami, who plays Flamberge, has interestingly not really played any boy roles. She’s got a lot of sexy, aggressive women, though. I’m not sure you’ve seen anything else she’s in, but her roles such as Kallen in Code Geass, Holo in Spice and Wolf, and Anemone in Eureka Seven are all very frightening, amazing women. Even her roles in shittier shows like Omamori Himari show her voice’s hotness.

    I’m thinking that I’ll pick Dantalian back up since I ended up dropping most of the current shows (only still watching Usagi Drop, Mawaru Penguindrum, Idolmaster, and Nekogami Yaoyorozu).

  2. SimCity Doll Kingdom. I would do the same thing.

    I’m not sure Hal is the one keeping Flamberge in a straitjacket though. I seem to remember him saying something about it being her choice in clothing. I’m wondering if she shares the same distaste for books as Hal and thus ties herself up, locking the library doors.

  3. Yep, this pair simply isn’t constructed as well as Dalian an Huey, but I do like the design of Flamberge herself. Her library is a welcome change from Dalian’s, though, and the fact that her skin rips apart like some C-section from hell makes it all the more awesome.

    Surtr’s staff can exist before Ragnarok. Considering how long the fire-giants’ lifespans must be, this could just be a filler episode for him, the story of Surtr’s lost cane. Maybe it’s a replica? That’d make sense… Do you really imagine big buff viking men making something that damn gaudy?

    • And what about the eyepatch girl’s library? Does her face cave in to let the guy stick his hand in? That’s some Uzumaki shit right there.

    • I guess sometimes imitations do the job, e.g. imitation crabmeat. The important thing is that it burns!!

  4. I watched the eps. Yeah the new guys aren’t great, but you know ho =w I had fun with this? I thought, what if Hal *is* a lolicon? Flamberge seems so sure of herself, and Hal is so distant with his comebacks, and Flamberge smiles so knowingly at his retorts. I think he’s a wolf in sheep’s clothing. He said Flanberge chains herself up at her own will (you noticed she was in a straight-jacket, too, right? FUCK SHE’S SO HOT) and she sure seems to enjoy whatever sick knowledge she has going on under the surface. Have you ever seen a character looking like she was having so much fun with what looks like absolutely nothing?

    And he pulled the key out of her womb! What could that mean?!

    • I guess it’d be your usual “paleololicon”, where technically the female is thousands of years older than the guy, but she happens to look about ten years younger than him. I guess since age of consent is what matters this would be perfectly legal?!

      The show is definitely not shy about insinuating romantic feelings between the princesses and the men. Dalian is glaringly jealous of Huey’s female friends, though Huey doesn’t seem interested in her.

  5. Why. Why do these get so tiny. This post is an eyesore. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post. This post.

    And thanks, Digiboy! WIthout you, I wouldn’t have rediscovered Kritik’s Blog.

    But still, Digiboy on Lain and Kritik on Dantalian. It’s uncanny,

    • I still don’t get why you think so. Historically, AK has done just as much blogging current shows as I have proportional to his overall post count, and I’ve done even more posting on old and obscure stuff, if you don’t group that into AK’s Endless Mastsumoto Works.

    • I personally like the rippling cascade effect in the comment section.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

