Two Interesting Videos

I’m up for my second round match in the Aniblog Tourney today (two hours from now, 4 pm EST) against the boldly headdressed chaostangent.  Do vote for one of us if you get a chance~  BTW, if you want to know more about my blog just refer to my post [here].  Now on to the videos!!

I. Code Geass: Akito the Exiled

The video is a compilation of the old trailer (first 1:30) with a new one (the last minute).  This last new trailer is really getting my hopes up in this thing!!

The narrator first recounts how in the Imperial Year 2010 the Holy Empire of Britannia invaded Japan.  This is why I love Code Geass, because it’s so subversive.  “Imperial Year” (=koreki) is actually referring to the old imperial calendar when it was Japan that invaded people and not the other way around.  And the visuals with all the arrows are so similar to old Japanese propaganda films, in which, for example, the strikes against British Malaya and Singapore were highlighted (watch the video at the end of the post [here], around the 2:20 mark).  How the arrows have turned~  You might think this is a case of Japanese guys playing the victims but there’s more to it than that…

The narrator then talks about how seven years later Europe is a hellish battlefield and some of the Elevens (former Japanese) find themselves exiled there.  Apparently there is a Foreign Volunteers Division in Europe with Elevens in it.  With chances of survival at less than 1%, these young exiles still have their dreams etc…  I’ll be sure to blog the OVA when it comes out.

II. 10 Tips on Anime Blogging

This is apparently a tutorial on how to be a better anime blogger.  I find the tips given both pithy and helpful, and I really can’t wait to implement them on my blog.  And BTW, the blogger looks very handsome in a rough, rather old-fashioned kinda way.

~ by animekritik on May 8, 2012.

12 Responses to “Two Interesting Videos”

  1. Hah! What a clever little video, complete with instant coffee and tasty creamers! It definitely makes for some excellent persuasion :3

  2. Curiously enough the arrows have some resonance in the UK too — I’m pretty sure I’ve seen them on old newsreels, though for modern Britons they’re probably only familiar from the intro of an old sitcom. I suspect they were common enough internationally at the time.

    None of this is to say they aren’t doing what you suggest they do in a specifically Japanese context, I think, it just amused me that they triggered off memories of old things I’d seen too.

    • Cool! Arrows make sense as a powerful way to represent these marches.. In the Japanese context I think everyone’s also reminded of the Imperial war flags, especially the Naval flag when the context is maritime conquest like it is with Japan and with Britannia.

  3. Really excited about the intense roller derby KMF combat!

    Tips #9 and #10 are priceless. I’m not joking. Productivity is gold.

  4. Bloggong returns!

    I’ll light a candle.

  5. Hat sold separately. Choking hazard for bloggers under 2.

    • Is that mental years or physical ones? If it’s physical ones I’m not at risk.

  6. So, the bull’s head is the result of drinking lots of coffee made by Anthy? Neat :D

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

