First Post:

You wake up to the sound of marching boots. You open the window and stare outside in dismay as a uniformed multitude tramples the ground. The snow seems incapable of muffling the noise. Even worse, it lends it a sickening dullness: the dumb determination of the horde. You hear a language foreign to you, yet familiar enough to give you chills. This cannot be, you think, as you walk back to bed.
You reach for the calendar on the night table: it reads 2008. So you rub your eyes and go back to the window. You squint in an attempt to identify the crowd. Those armbands… That banner… Oh god…


“All heil Lelouch!”? Yes, it’s the Nazi flag with the Geass sign from Code Geass: Lelouche of the Rebellion. In the show, Lelouche Lamperouge has the power to bend people’s wills to his own. Put thus, one could argue that entire nations during the twentieth century have been, in essence, Geassed. This flag then ceases to be fiction. Isn’t the swastika an attempt at a Geass sign? (BTW, it’s clear to me that the Axis Powers with Geass would definitely be around today).
Code Geass itself is pretty much based on events in and around twentieth-century Japan, reworked so that the real suffering of the Japanese and the real suffering inflicted by the Japanese are sublimated into one: the all-suffering, all-stoic Japan that animators in the Home Islands are so fond of. But we have indeed progressed somewhat from the generation of Leiji Matsumoto and Space Battleship Yamato. The victim is still Japan, but the hero, well, the anti-hero, is the very foreign Lelouche…
So anime in our history, and history in our anime. That, and anime and philosophy, and the theology of anime (taken in its widest sense, including for example, atheism!!) are topics that I’m interested in. Plus linguistics (my Japanese is decent, and despite the title of the blog, no, I do not speak German–I’m just being silly).

~ by Haloed Bane on November 11, 2008.

2 Responses to “First Post:”

  1. Well, what can I say? I’m a few weeks late, but I like this place already. I only WISH I could talk about philosophy and theology and the like while analyzing anime, but seeing as I still have a lot to learn, I’ll settle with something a bit simpler ;P

    By the way, would you like to exchange blogroll links? You don’t appear to have a blogroll at the moment, which is your decision of course, but if you do decide to make one at some point, let me know if you want us to add one another. Good luck in the future!

    …I’m starting to feel like I can’t hide behind the shield of being a beginner any more OTL.

  2. I’ll be putting up a blogroll real soon, and you’ll be on it🙂

Leave a Reply

 
