Xmas, New Year

Another year is coming to an end.  On Monday I will be flying across the Pacific to Gotham (one week stay) and then on to Miss-Universe-Central (two weeks).  I like it not too cold in Gotham, not too hot in MUC, though I’ll probably be disappointed on both counts.  Then again, I guess I should just be grateful that the great big mob pressure group occupying the international airport has gone home!

Who do I need to Geass to get a Season 3??

Who do I need to geass to get a Season 3??

I’m looking over moetron‘s comprehensive anime premieres list for early 2009 (here) and these are the shows that I’ll probably try out.

1. Maria†Holic – because Shaft is doing it, plus the name and the little cross are nice, and the character design looks more than decent, plus there’s something about sadistic traps in it…

2. White Album – because Hirano’s in it, though it looks meh.  I’ll give it 3 eps…

3. Z Mazinger – because Mazinger Z was the first thing I ever cared about that was on TV (besides Ultraman), plus the remake is going to get loads of Greek mythology thrown in.  Wow.

That might not sound like a lot but I got to bring home the bacon plus I’ll hopefully be doing some J->E translating on the side so my time is limited.

I’ll also continue Galaxy Express 999 and Soul Eater, plus a few shows that I might hear about along the way..  I’m not mentioning a particular second season of something because I’m afraid I’ll jinx it and it won’t come out. I was thinking about going back and watching Voltron before the movie came out, but I couldn’t stand the voice acting in the first episode.  And apparently Toei has effectively crushed that project anyway…

I figure at some point I’ll be doing random posts about NG Evangelion, SE Lain, etc…  If anyone has any anime new or old they’d like to recommend that can be fruitfully related to philo-theo-historico-critical concerns do let me know.  You know, high-brow stuff like Voltron and eroge adaptations 😉

Looking forward to this...

Looking forward to this...

Well, have a Merry Xmas and a happy New Year!

~ by Haloed Bane on December 12, 2008.

3 Responses to “Xmas, New Year”

  1. Your blog looks nice overall. I’ll leave an eye on it, you don’t get enough comments for your posts. Nice geass picture by the way ;D

  2. I’d like to see some Lain discussion/analysis; it was a great show, but complicated. Monster would also be a good choice but it might be a little difficult considering its length. Anyway, I hope you have fun!

  3. Thanks merozero for the comment. Eternal, I do definitely need to do lain again next year. Anyway, back to my vacation.

Leave a Reply

 
