K-On! 04: A Mighty Fortress…

At times the bustle of the world threatens to overwhelm the soul.

and then

Times of Trouble

But God is always at your side.

Always There

Always There

The soul must only reach out to God, and She will take care of the rest.

Ask and you shall receive

Ask and you shall receive

But what to do about the unthinking masses?

Aimlessly wandering

Aimlessly Wandering and Wondering

Souls filled with lecherous thoughts.

Lust

Luxuria

Craven appetites.

Gula

Gula

Folk accumulating wealth.

Avaritia

Avaritia

Wasting their lives away.

Acedia

Acedia

Hating.

Ira

Ira

Envying.

Invidia

Invidia

Eyes on the transient glories of this world.

Superbia

Superbia

God tells us to be patient.

aaa

"Surely you can find...

There is always good in others.

...something good in them...

"...something good in them..."

And you are not alone.

...as I have found in you.

"...just as I found something good in you."

***

I didn’t expect this episode to be so centered on Mio & Mugi.  Really, I see the whole show starting to revolve around Mio.  Sure, Yui’s still got bedroom scene privileges, but I worry she might end up like the French Kings in feudal times, with a nominal main character role while England, Normandy and Burgundy beat each other up and call all the shots in France.  I imagine the hordes of Mio fans will be pleased, and won’t mind how Ritsu and Yui are gradually merging into each other.

Another interesting thing was the improvement in Yui’s guitar skills, which along with her perfect 100% score in the last episode, is really starting to push the boundaries of realism.

But for me the best part was Mio shamelessly calling on Mugi to deliver on the villa.  You could see Mugi was not exactly pleased, but she was nice enough to provide her services.  I like this because while it’s clearly following from the guitar purchase earlier on, Mio is the last person I’d have imagine asking Mugi straight off like that.  And I also like to see resistance on Mugi’s part.  It’ll be a lot of fun to see how this Mugi/God issue develops in the coming episodes.

I tend to understand Mio’s phobia problem as a spiritual metaphor, where Mio plays a very conflicted and very cute Luther trying to come to grips with the world in a constant conversation with the very pretty God that is Mugi.  And as Luther himself said, God is a mighty fortress…

tsumugi

~ by Haloed Bane on April 27, 2009.

18 Responses to “K-On! 04: A Mighty Fortress…”

  1. Awesome post is awesome🙂

  2. Another interesting thing was the improvement in Yui’s guitar skills, which along with her perfect 100% score in the last episode, is really starting to push the boundaries of realism.

    This is troubling, if interesting. This is the reward for Mio’s efforts. She does all the work and the worrying, Mugi supplies the world wherein which to work.

    Mugi = god the mother
    Mio = god the daughter(Jesus)
    Ritsu = satan
    Yui = ‘Man’

    Mio does all the sacrifices, worries, is tempted in turn. But, there is no crucifiction really – OR IS THERE?

    In the end Yui is delivered/delivers. NAZE DA? I can only read this as being moved by the holy ghost(lightning) in the form of the spirit of music. How else can she play like this?

  3. I can’t decide if posts like this make me love you or hate you or both, or if I’m tsundere for you. Obviously that’s it.

  4. Another interesting thing was the improvement in Yui’s guitar skills, which along with her perfect 100% score in the last episode, is really starting to push the boundaries of realism.

    It means she’s not stupid…just lazy.

  5. But the masses are so happy, even when committing all of the seven sins! Surely it’d be cruel to judge them.

    This episode confirmed to me that Mugi is >9000 and >the rest of the cast.

    But, there is no crucifiction really – OR IS THERE?

    How about the Moe Moe Kyun~ event? It a) was very uncomfortable, a sacrifice, on part of Mio (even if just fantasy), and b) used to the satisfaction of – that is benefit of – Man, Yui. And if we go meta, the viewer (presumably, if there is anyone not pleased with this though, I don’t know what to say).

    On the other hand it was done by Satan…

    …It hurts calling Ritsu Satan :<

  6. @dKiWi

    golly, well, awesome comment is awesome🙂

    @ghostlightning

    I agree with Kaiser on the crucifixion bit. Then again, if Mio is Jesus then she’s more of our modern-day sinner Jesus (a la “Last Temptation of Christ”) rather than the grand know-it-all Christ of orthodoxy.

    @digiboy

    Ha! Then treat me as I treat the Jews: I don’t love them, I don’t hate them, but I’m aware of them😉 [I apologize beforehand if anyone is hurt by this comment]

    @Mustang

    Not only not stupid, but downright amazingly awesome!!

    @Kaiser

    Ritsu would have to be the cutest Satan ever.

  7. So the feelings mutual I guess?

    (I’m not a real Jew, though. I’m a fake Jew)

  8. @kaiserpingvin
    @animekritik

    How about the Moe Moe Kyun~ event? It a) was very uncomfortable, a sacrifice, on part of Mio (even if just fantasy), and b) used to the satisfaction of – that is benefit of – Man, Yui. And if we go meta, the viewer (presumably, if there is anyone not pleased with this though, I don’t know what to say).

    No. TITS OR GTFO. Rather, her crucifixion is yet to be depicted within the main narrative.

    But I do agree that she’s no Jesus of the orthodoxy; she’s a postmodern Jesus (beginning with being female).

    She also has bigger tits than god (Mugi, her mother). The very idea that she can be sexually portrayed, has apocryphal gospel accounts in baudrillardian hyperreal/simulacral media(doujinshi, THIS BLOG, etc.), heretics (kaioshin), and of course retarded worshippers.

  9. “It means she’s not stupid…just lazy.”

    It isn’t even being lazy, just that her priorities are messed up. As shown with the make-up test, if she puts her mind to it, she can be awesome. But we don’t see her putting her mind to anything that much. Which sucks.

    And on the post: I think another part of Mugi being disgruntled at Mio is the fact that she doesn’t want to use her wealth when it comes to the club and her friends. Her complaint about how despite her requests, the villa caretakers still made the place luxurious to live in was a continuing indicator of this. Like how she decided not to pay for Yui’s guitar straight up, instead deciding to bargain for it.

  10. @digiboy

    No, no, no. I love fake Jews🙂

    @ghost

    I admire Baudrillard because he can sell 150 page books for 15 bucks plus each. This also I means I’ve never read him…BTW I still believe Mio is much more a Luther than a Christ.

    @TheBigN

    And the reason she doesn’t want to use her wealth? She’s sick and tired of having everything done for her without lifting a finger. K-On! is her one chance to play at being “normal”, and she doesn’t want to spoil it. Think of how bored God must get with all them pesky angels ministering to His every need. Even so, when one of the angels trips and falls in front of Him, it must be real hard for Him not to lift him up with the flick of a Finger.

  11. I love it when episodic blogging gets tossed on its head like this. ‘Tis a shame I can never think of witty comments to follow >_>

  12. I don’t know, try to pun then!!

  13. …won’t mind how Ritsu and Yui are gradually merging into each other.

    I think some would even be happy if they were “merging”, as it were. Kukuku.

  14. @omisyth

    I’m sure that doujinshi will be out soon!

  15. ep 04 is the turning point for Yui! It shows that she got some MAD skills and she isn’t all epic!

    And Mio’s moeiness/maid lol

  16. […] hyperbole, only 1 guy likes Ritsu). I’ve had my Yuri-ka moment and found God (or at least deux ex machina), and have picked Mugi as my favorite. Yes I have the words as to why, but I don’t have to […]

  17. […] mostly didn’t care much for her (I’m never big on tsukkomi-types anyway.) Tsumugi was obviously god, which was great, but she was sort of a wallflower most of the time. Azusa was a lot of fun for […]

  18. […] mostly didn’t care much for her (I’m never big on tsukkomi-types anyway.) Tsumugi was obviously god, which was great, but she was sort of a wallflower most of the time. Azusa was a lot of fun for […]

Leave a Reply

 
