Kinky CANAAN (ep 02)

This is a breakdown of my impressions of Canaan episode 02.

minutes 0-3 (including the intro) → AWESOME, A+

minutes 3-13 → OK, B

minutes 13-20 → OH BROTHER, D-

minutes 20-22 → WTF

liang qi

I loved Alphard’s rescue.  While it makes the CIA look absolutely incompetent, I am willing to suspend my disbelief in exchange of the lovely fight scenes, both visually and aurally.  In the first episode I was still thinking, “How cool is Alphard, really?” but after this sequence I was going, “Wow, how cool is she!!”

After that we had ten minutes of your run-of-the-mill setup story: there’s this virus, and this girl’s key to it, but she’s kind of a klutz blah blah.  OK, that was pretty cool altogether.  I’m totally enthralled by Liang Qi’s gestures and movements: if this were live-action I’d say she was a very good actress, and gorgeous to boot.

calm before the storm

calm before the storm

And then the shooting began.  To me this was a 7-minute downward spiral of doom and despair.  First the old man.  Then the taxi driver.  Last, and certainly not least in lameness, the sugary pop tune.  I felt nauseous by the end, even though Canaan is super cool and the fighting itself was done well enough.

The catgirl situation, well, I’ll reserve judgment until the next episode…

One of the most impressive things about this episode was the catalogue of philias on display.  There were enough kinds of kinkiness for everyone.  Here’s a list, not necessarily in order, and obviously not meant to be an endorsement (or disparagement) of said proclivities😉

hakko

1. Bondage – Alphard in the beginning.

2. Catgirl – Hakko at the end.  I don’t know if bunnygirls and catgirls should be included in the same philia.  Anyone know?

3. Groping – The chef on Yunyun.

4. Lolicon – Speculation that Canaan hasn’t started menstruating yet.

5. Voyeurism – Alphard’s shower scene.  That’s two shower scenes in two episodes.  I imagine Maria is next…

6. Sadism – Liang Qi shooting Cummings.

7. Masochism – Cummings being shot.  Dude positively moaned in delight.

DEJA GEASS

DEJA GEASS

All in all it’s an impressive resumé for a single episode!  In itself I think it’s not a bad thing, but then again I’m quite lenient on fanservice as long as it doesn’t interefere with the plot [unless it’s the actual plot, in which case it’s fine too but I probably won’t be watching it].  I just wish that cooky old man hadn’t shown up.

liang qi 2

~ by Haloed Bane on July 16, 2009.

8 Responses to “Kinky CANAAN (ep 02)”

  1. Yeah it fell off a steep cliff after the rescue scene. It’s like watching another show entirely.

    The fetish service is impressively erm, robutst.

  2. I have no idea what’s going on in this show, but this ain’t no Kara no Kyoukai, I’ve figured that much out. My expectations for Type Moon adaptations are higher than this. Maybe that’s why I’ve been let down so many times…

  3. Well, what do you expect from a man named Cummings?

    I don’t know about you guys, but the Jouji Nakata-voiced taxi driver is the best taxi driver.

  4. @ghostlightning

    The only reason I’m watching the next episode is bcos of the Quartet of Cute (Maria, Liang, Canaan, Alphard). But if they whip out more of that silliness I might have to drop it.

    @Sorrow

    What’s the best Type-Moon anime? I don’t think I’ve ever seen one.

    @schneider

    Oh, good. I thought I was the only one noticing the Cummings name.

    The taxi driver is an awesome taxi driver, his voice is awesome, the whole sequence is great, but in another context, in another show, or something. I just didn’t want it there…

  5. @animekritik
    Kara no Kyoukai by the length of a paddock. It’s not even close.

  6. 2. Catgirl – Hakko at the end. I don’t know if bunnygirls and catgirls should be included in the same philia. Anyone know?

    Of course they are different! Kitties are much better than bunnies!😛

  7. I bite my nails, therefore I identify with Liang Qi.

  8. […] it seems like others are falling out of love with the series due to the fanservice and comedy, but I’ll keep watching […]

Leave a Reply

 
