Ikki Tousen 108 (nsfw)

At last I catch up with the latest chapter of this series.  I was planning to write a post as soon as the Battle of Red Cliffs arc ended, but this thing’s been going on for volumes and volumes and still doesn’t seem to be ending…

ryuubi dragon

The dominant opinion on 2ch is that is dragging out.  I can’t but agree, although there’s a key factor that people might be missing: the chapters are tiny!  The last few chapters have been about 15 pages long, and so it takes two months to cover 30 pages of story.  This obviously contributes to the feeling that the story’s dragging.  Someone tell Shiozaki to start writing more!!

Chapter 107 saw Ryuhbi (Liu Bei) deciding to kill herself in order, she thought, to save her comrades.  She began to fall from the pagoda and in this chapter she hits the ground.  That’s all so far!

Well, there’s a bit more.  Her dragon has awoken again and it’s hungry, so we see evil hmunch on someone’s severed arm [I think it’s an arm, but it could be a cat and she’s munching on its head, that’d be kinda cool too!].  Taishiji is going to be the (first) one to face her.  Everyone else is cowering in fear.

I'm glad "succubine" is a word, coz there's nothing else I can call this!

I'm glad "succubine" is a word, coz there's nothing else I can call this!

Oh, and I should comment on Kan’u (Guan Yu)’s death.  I totally agree with those who think that if she gets revived it’d be ridiculous.  That said, I’d be happy if Ryofu Hohsen got revived, which I guess shows bias on my part.  Come to think of it, Ryofu’s death has bee used by the mangaka to set up all sorts of emotions and situations so really she should stay dead too.

That death is final is the axial maxim around which mature works revolve.  I’m not really talking shohnen vs seinen here, but rather the divide between Bugs Bunny and Achilles, say.  This doesn’t mean that resurrection stories are invariably bad, they can be totally awesome [religions have been based on them] but there’s gotta be good, predetermined reasons for these cases to occur and they must be unique, or at least very, very rare.

I’ll be looking forward to the next chapter, although in the final analysis the best part about this one was this cover😉

"I absolve you" says Ryomou.

Ryomoh.

Enough to say about this cover to make up another post…

~ by Haloed Bane on August 14, 2009.

4 Responses to “Ikki Tousen 108 (nsfw)”

  1. That death is final is the axial maxim around which mature works revolve. I’m not really talking shohnen vs seinen here, but rather the divide between Bugs Bunny and Achilles, say. This doesn’t mean that resurrection stories are invariably bad, they can be totally awesome [religions have been based on them] but there’s gotta be good, predetermined reasons for these cases to occur and they must be unique, or at least very, very rare.

    YES THIS!

    I wonder if one can overdo death in narratives. Some critics of Yoshiyuki “Kill ’em All” Tomino seem to think so.

    Personally though, if the criticism is deaths are ‘meaningless,’ I LIKE IT THAT WAY. Not all deaths must have poignant significance in the scheme of things. The pointless deaths for me, ennoble the deaths of other characters. But this is me.

  2. Yup, pointless deaths are necessary, as are pointless lives!

  3. I dont understand why Kan’u had to die. No real reason was given. That really sucked.

    • Yeah, and just the other day the new “chapter” turned out to be a lame, 6 page “backstory” of Kyocho…I’m pretty much off this manga now..

Leave a Reply

 
