New Captain Harlock CG Film

I think a lot of you know about this project already.  Objectively speaking, the first images coming out look very good (and the staff is solid).  I think the problem will be with Matsumoto fans that might get upset at the changes made (Kei Yuki looks lovely, but she doesn’t look like Kei Yuki etc.) but in the end if Leiji-sensei himself is happy with the project then that’s a really good sign (he is after all known as the most difficult mangaka to work with out there!).

Anyway, my friend Fallen pointed out to me that Toei’s official page for this project has been updated with a story outline [here].  I’ve translated it below…all of you Harlock fans may debate to what extent this sounds like a “remake” or a brand-new thing.

***

“Former Federation Army Captain Harlock…the Arcadia vessel under his command enters into open rebellion against the Federation and disappears beyond the Solar System.  From that time on the Arcadia travels throughout space, raiding and plundering any convoys it meets on their way back to Earth.  A hundred years pass and more, but his purpose is still unclear.  His name is on every Federation planet’s top wanted list and several fleets have pursued and engaged the Arcadia, but so far no one has been able to deliver that mortal blow…

What was the reason for Harlock’s sudden reappearance?  Why did the battleship that everyone gave for destroyed rose again as a pirate ship?  How can he live on after a century?  And more importantly, why did a captain so motivated by respect and honor chose to rebel against his government?  Rumors of Harlock spread among the people like the legends of ghost ships: with a mixture of reverence and dread.  And now, after a hundred years…

a plan to assassinate Harlock has been put into operation!!”

***

Personally, this sounds to me like they’ll go halfway between a remake and a new plot.  BTW, keep your eye out on my Alberich’s Dream page, as I’m currently adding subpages ( a Sexaroid one, a Harlock Saga one…)  And now back to hiatus.

~ by Haloed Bane on April 12, 2010.

16 Responses to “New Captain Harlock CG Film”

  1. Some hiatus, you’re practically up to your old speed already 😄

    COME BACK TO MEEEEE!!!!!!

    • No, no, no. Look at the yggs, no action there. I’m still in deep deep hiatus. Loch Ness monster deep.

  2. I’ve heard rumblings about this project before, but nothing as detailed as this (even if, like some story outlines I’ve encountered, it’s not that accurate . . .), so thank you for your translation!

    • Sure thing, man. This just came out today, I think. 2012 sounds like a long time away, though.

  3. I wished I asked more related questions when the staff at Toei Phils. were showing off how they were rendering the Arcadia. I really got to see the workstations and the work in progress up close a year ago.

    • Go back there…today…take pictures…Better yet, let me send you a script, you bring it in to Toei and replace whatever script you find…and we’ll get the best Harlock yet!

      • I’M GOING TO DO IT. I HAVE TWO RELATIVES DRAWING BACKGROUNDS (albeit for PreCure and One Piece… and some Disney project YEAH DISNEY IS OUTSOURCING TO TOEI PHILIPPINES DUN DUN DUN, but still) SO SEND ME THE SCRIPT AND I’LL MAKE THEM WORK ON IT.

        • Harlock: Eternal Siam.

          “Just shoot the protesters!”
          “You heard the general! What are you waiting for?”
          “Wh-wh-what’s that? In the sky!”
          “The Arcadia! It’s Captain Harlock!!”
          “I fly under the flag of freedom!!…”

          Da-da-da-dum. Capt. Harlock 2010. Very in trend with the latest news.

  4. “Kei Yuki looks lovely, but she doesn’t look like Kei Yuki etc.”

    But Harlock looks sexy and that is all that matters 😀

    • Hm, I wonder if they’ll have Koichi Yamadera do his voice. Then the sexiness will be complete.

      • Oh yeah baby! *drools* Now your talkin’ my language! But if they brought it over here, I would kill for the same English voice actors …

  5. […] On Captain CGI On Depositfiles On Mediafire On holstein-bot […]

  6. A nice post for the 12th of April, the date when the humans actually reached the outer space for the first time.

    Now, looking at the picture you posted here I can’t help worrying about the fate of Tori-san. Miss Masu strikes again?

    The Arcadia design gives me the creeps, though…

    • I totally knew about the 12th of April (no I didn’t). Was that Sputnik?

      Tori-san is around, I’m sure.

      You’re not the only one who’s scared of the Arcadia design. It’s disturbing, to say the least. Let’s hope it’s just the angle…

      • No, Yuri Gagarin, orbiting the Earth. 1961. Speaking about dates, year 2012 is claimed to be another end of the world due to the magnetic pole reversal (to think of it, a grand Matsumotoesque setting) – we’ll definitely need Harlock back then!

        • Ah, yes. Sputnik was unmanned, right? My fave is Laika anyway 😉 Yes, Harlock’s needed.

Leave a Reply

 
