Happy Halloween

If Halloween is the time when monsters from the other side visit us, and if monsters are all in our imagination (projected out of our unconscious, the other side) then Neon Genesis Evangelion is a very appropriate series to bring up today.

I don’t know what’s scarier: Asuka’s violation by Arael in episode 22 or her consumption by the harpies at the End of Evangelion.  Maybe you can’t really separate them.  We know Asuka’s Via Crucis is headed for disaster when she fails at her Gethsemane in episode 22.  This interpretation isn’t sacrilegious to god or disrespectful to Asuka.  How could it be?  The point is precisely that Asuka isn’t a god.

And neither are we.  So when I say “Happy Halloween” I say it in just the same I would say “Happy Columbus Day”, by which I mean “Hey, why don’t you spend some time to reflect on the European encounter with America?”  Think about your monsters.  Could you handle Arael’s attack?  If you think it’s a scary question, then how about this one:

Aren’t you being ripped apart and gobbled up, massacred like Asuka was, by the mass-produced objects that you ostensibly consume each day?

~ by Haloed Bane on October 31, 2010.

7 Responses to “Happy Halloween”

  1. This is a nightmare. Right now my MS Office Beta version is expiring so I bought a legit copy. But my beta won’t uninstall so I can’t install the new software I bought. Microsoft’s support page is a 404 and I can’t get any work done without this office suite. I’m so fucked. Happy Halloween indeed.

    • I bought Windows 7 recently and the microsoft support online and by phone was very unhelpful. It took me a while to figure things out, so I can feel your pain, believe me!

  2. Happy Halloween, animekritik!

    And you really had to reference the Asuka mindrape scene…

  3. I for one don’t mind the horror monster day becoming happy sexy cosplay all night day!

  4. FAGS

Leave a Reply

 
