Merry Christmas 2010!! (with GE 999)

I try to think of this holiday as being all about being happy, so whatever your religion or philosophy I wish you as much happiness as you will bear!  And thank you for your support!!

Here’s what I ordered for Christmas:

These are the last (or latest) three volumes in the Galaxy Express 999 manga series.  There are two odd things about my choice: first, I haven’t read practically anything from this manga.  Honestly though, I don’t have the time, money or motivation to get and read all 21 volumes.  The biggest reason I purchased these 3 volumes are my curiosity about the Metanoids and the fact that volume 21 ties in GE 999 with Galaxy Railways and Layla Destiny (as you can see on the cover).

The other odd thing is all the French on the cover.  That’s because I ordered the French translations and not the original manga!  Now, as a rule I prefer reading the originals, but the fact is I was able to buy these three volumes for less than half the price that the Japanese were going for with all the shipping fees.  And I trust the French translations will be very good.  The best language a Leiji Studies can pick up is of course Japanese, but the the second best is French, and then third best is likely English.  I wonder what the fourth is (Italian, Spanish, Russian???)

***

After putting these three manga cover images next to each other, and looking at the end result, I began to wonder what a person who didn’t know anything about GE 999 would think this story was about?!

Then I read the French blurbs on the covers, and the one on volume 20 absolutely shocked me!  Here’s my translation:

If you stay where you are, you will have everything you desire.

But you can go anywhere you want, as long as you have enough courage.

I will do everything to keep you near me.

If it is your desire to go back out into the galaxy you may do so.

But if it pleases you, my love, do not leave me behind.

Otherwise you will see an adult cry.

……….  I haven’t read the volume so I don’t know if it’s an actual quote.  But I wonder about the meaning of this and its relation to the theme of Galaxy Express as a whole.

Hmmm…any thoughts?

ANYWAYS, MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

~ by Haloed Bane on December 25, 2010.

8 Responses to “Merry Christmas 2010!! (with GE 999)”

  1. Merry Christmas! (Just love this snow :D)

    I can’t answer your question – no ideas. GE999 is a yet untrodden part of the Leijiverse for me. By the way, what about GE999 TV-series? You stopped at one of the most exciting episodes. If you start watching it again, I might join in.

  2. Merry Christmas my friend!

  3. Merry Christmas, Animekritik!🙂

    I wonder how manga differs from anime.

    Oh, so you can read French too!🙂

    [I’ve seen some of the episodes, but I’ll try to clear my mind and assess it as if new] Just looking at the covers, the story seems to be about traveling and love due to the presence of a train and, presumably, a couple (or maybe she is just his mother – he is so tiny😛 ). The rightmost picture is somewhat more ambiguous because it is not clear who that blue-haired woman is.

    The passage is not very clear. It sounds like it highlights the conflict between settling or continuous travel. Also it looks like the person wants to stay with the other half, regardless of the decision. Unfortunately, I can’t put it in context because I don’t recall the work very well now.

    • Well, you’ve just captured the essence of the mystery. They are not related, BUT he is indeed far younger than she is BUT she is somehow mysteriously modeled after his mother. It’s…magical?!

  4. Merry Christmas, my good man! More longevity in the coming year, too!

Leave a Reply

 
