Dantalian no Shoka 05

I have to agree with draggle that this show is one surprise after another.  I don’t think there was any single moment in this episode in which, if you had asked me to predict what would happen in the next five minutes, I’d have been able to come even close.

I like how the villain of the episode is readily dubbed a real magician by Dalian.  The emphasis in the distinction between real magicians and (phantom)-book readers is really cool because it seemingly undermines the show to a large extent.  I mean, this is supposed to center around the mystical library and its awesomeness.  Yet here is the librarian saying: oh well, this dude is beyond the need for books.

Of course, it’s possible that we will find out that at a higher level books are again necessary.  Heck, I reckon it’s bound to be this way…notice that Dalian and Huey beat the magician in this episode after all!  But it’s good to see these little twists and turns here.

I’m impressed with how comfortably this show does its thing, never reaches for more, and delivers an entertaining half-hour every week.  And if anything the art and animation are improving in quality as we go on.

Since the nature of these books is unclear, I can’t really say what I would do if I possessed them…I hate the cold, so I would use the Salamander Tablet to keep myself warm.  Burning pearls seem redundant, though I guess if I could douse the flames I’d sell them for a handsome profit.  Scrap that, I’d trade all the pearls for gallons of mercury and make myself a homunculus or two!

 

~ by Haloed Bane on August 13, 2011.

6 Responses to “Dantalian no Shoka 05”

  1. You raise an interesting point- I found it perfectly natural that there would be a magician, since someone must have written the phantom books in the first place. Yet now that I think about it, this doesn’t necessarily follow. The mystical library and phantom books are supernatural, so why should they have been created by human hands? It seems just as reasonable to believe that a phantom book created humans as to believe the reverse.

    (and thanks for the mention!)

    • Then since books are written, it means someone must have written the book that created mankind. and we come to theology once more😀

      • Ah, it always comes back to theology, doesn’t it?🙂 Now did some god write the books, did the books always exist, did they will themselves into existence, or did mankind write the book that created mankind in the cycle of time…? So many interesting possibilities!

        • Yup, I think mainstream Hinduism and Islam both accept the eternality of the Vedas and the Qur’an respectively, so there you go.

  2. Definite change in atmosphere from the subdued tones of 1-4. Hell, by the end it literally became an episode of the Mighty Morphin’ Power Readers. Not that it’s a bad thing. The lighting and animation were stylish – Typical Gainax at work, and though there was a whole lot of exposition it didn’t feel out of place with the rushed pace of the episode.

    As for who wrote the books, I’m going to have to make another Lovecraft comparison. Man stumbled across some supernatural knowledge, either by pure chance, meticulous observation, or through the influence of spirits, dives in too deep for his own good, dies, leaves a book behind.

    • Yeah, I actually thought of Gainax in this episode.
      I like your comparison. I actually bet most of these books are really, really short and they just have tons of blank pages to impress the uninitiated (who’d never dare open them and check).

Leave a Reply

 
