50 Questions, Answered

A couple of bloggers on my reader filled this out.  The original is [here].

1. Who is your favorite male anime character?

I’d love to get some beers and shoot the bull with Ryoji Kaji (Neon Genesis Evangelion).  He is as cool as they come.

2. Who is your favorite female character?

Anthy Himemiya (Revolutionary Girl Utena).  She is…unique.

3. What is your favorite anime soundtrack?

Neon Genesis Evangelion (TV) is great.  Also, the Panty & Stocking soundtrack.  Go Gainax.

4. What is your favorite anime opening + animation?

Space Symphony Maetel, because it speaks to me (maybe I am a time-traveling blonde trapped in a man’s body).  Last Exile and Serial Experiments Lain have great OPs too.

5. What is your favorite anime ending song + animation?

I can’t really think of an absolute favorite, but Gun Frontier is definitely up there.

6. What is your favorite anime scene?

Utena’s duel with Juri (Revolutionary Girl Utena episode 7 I think).  You can’t top that, though you can match it with, for example, Asuka vs. the Masspro Evas in End of Evangelion, or the World War II flashback in Arcadia of my Youth.

7. If you could meet an anime character who would it be?

The truth is that I’d rather meet Leiji Matsumoto over any character, but I can still answer this question properly because the man is an anime character in many of his shows.  But I’d only choose him if he was willing to answer my questions.  Otherwise I’d go with Maetel.  Maetel won’t answer my questions either, but she’s way prettier than Leiji.

8. What anime character is most similar to you in terms of personality?

Jung-Freud (Gunbuster) for you see, on paper I’m more qualified than my rivals in life and yet they always beat me in the end but instead of taking it badly I just smile and trudge along.  Paper isn’t real life, friends, and both Jung and I know this.  Or maybe I’m just a space-traveling redhead trapped in a man’s body.

9. What is your favorite thing about anime?

The creativity.  I explained this [here].

10. What is your least favorite thing about anime?

How the seasons get so dominated by trends, whatever those trends might be at the time.  In other words, how the Japanese make a mockery of my response to # 9.

11. Who are your favorite anime couple?

Baron Ashura (Shin Mazinger Z).  Words cannot express…

12. Who is your favorite anime animal?

Tori (Space Captain Harlock and others).  From his antics in the Otoko Oidon manga I learned to seize the day, except that in his case instead of carpe diem it’s carpe testiculum.

13. What anime would make a good game?

If they sat down and seriously tried to make a proper game out of it, the Transformers franchise would rock the gaming world.  Sadly, the stuff I’ve seen is pretty crappy.

14. What game would make a good anime?

Final Fantasy VII.  I’ve never seen the Advent Children film though.

15. What was the first anime you ever watched?

Mazinger Z (the original one).

16. Do you think you’ll ever stop watching anime?

No, as long as there’s anything decent to watch.  And I am optimistic.

17. What is your favorite genre of anime?

In theory, shojo.

18. What is your least favorite genre of anime?

In practice, shonen.

19. Are you open about watching anime with people you know?

Absolutely.

20. Have you ever been to Japan?

I lived there but I left.  Life in Japan is like an anime, but not necessarily the kind of anime you want to star in, as tATu found out ten years ago:

21. What anime was the biggest letdown for you?

K-On!.

22. What anime was better then expected?

The Jewel Pet franchise is actually very good.  Too bad no one streams or subs it or shares it anymore.

23. What is the best anime fight scene?

See # 6.

24. Who is your anime waifu?

Anthy.  I don’t have one.

25. What was your favorite video game as a child?

Does Galaga count?  Ha ha ha ha!

26. Most Embarrassing moment?

Many a zipper down at inappropriate moments.

27a. Can you drive?

No.

27b. Do you own a car?

No.

28. Are you mature?

No.  Look around my site.

29. What year were you born?

1976.

30. Do you prefer cats or dogs?

Depends on the breeds involved.  Longhair cats are full of fail, that’s for sure.

31. Describe yourself physically.

A regular guy, the guy next door.  But not the one that turns out to be a psychopathic killer.

32. What would you name your first child?

I wouldn’t come up with a name before the child was on the way, and even if I was thinking of a name I couldn’t tell you.

33. What is the worst injury you have ever had?

I have almost died a few times,  but never from injuries.  I rarely get cut or wounded.

34. What is your worse habit?

I don’t care about things that other people care about, and this exasperates them.

35. Do you drink or smoke?

Seldom and seldom.

36. Do you have a tattoo?

Yes, one to match my birth-year.

37. Are you a morning person or a night person?

Night person.

38. Have you ever slept past midday?

Sure, but very rarely.  I’d rather wake up at 10, stay awake for a few hours and then go back to sleep.

39. Do you regret anything?

Watching Tengen Toppa all the way to the end expecting it to get good at some point.

40. Can you count the number of friends you have on one hand?

I could be a Care Bear and still count the number of friends I have on one hand.

41. Do you wear glasses?

Yes.

42. Are you a picky eater?

Ha ha ha ha!   Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!!  Good one.

43. Would you die for someone?

In theory, yes.  We’ll have to wait and see how it works in practice though.

44. If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

Mind control would make life so much easier.

45. Do you believe in the supernatural?

No.  I believe in the lottery though.

46. Would you rather be rich or famous?

See # 45.

47. Have you ever committed a crime.

Yes, but nothing that would be illegal if I possessed the supreme authority.

48. Time Traveler or ghost?

Time traveler.

49. Does someone have a crush on you?

Several people, maybe.

50. Are you in a relationship?

Yes.  There’s a picture of me and my wife [here].

~ by Haloed Bane on March 20, 2012.

23 Responses to “50 Questions, Answered”

  1. I put mine up on Google+ some time ago:

    1. Who is your favourite male anime character?

    Nekki Basara. LISTEN TO MY SONG.

    2. Who is your favourite female anime character?

    Lynn Minmay. I REMEMBER LOVE.

    3. What is your favourite anime soundtrack?

    Macross Frontier Sayonara no Tsubasa “The End of the Triangle” OST

    VALKYRIAAAAAAAA

    4. What is your favourite anime opening + animation?

    Overman King Gainer. WE NEED KING GAINER.

    5. What is your favourite anime ending + animation?

    The Real Folk Blues.

    6. What is your favourite anime scene?

    This changes from time to time, but Eureka SeveN…

    ANEMONEEEEEEE!!!

    DOMINIKUUUUUUU!!!

    Seriously. Fuck.

    7. If you could meet an anime character, who would it be?

    Touhoufuhai. Master Asia. The Undefeated of the East. He’d turn me into an indestructible fighter.

    8. What anime character is most similar to you in terms of personality?

    Yang Wenli. I said personality, not talent. I am lazy as fuck and likes simple comforts but ends up working incredibly hard anyway.

    9. What is your favourite thing about anime?

    GIANT ROBOTS FIGHTING.

    10. What is your least favourite thing about anime?

    PERVERTED LOLI, INCEST, LOLINCEST BULLSHIT. I meant the bullshit, not the elements per se. Can I distinguish? Yes I CAN. Nisemonogatari… smut. Aquarion EVOL… awesome.

    11. Who’s your favourite anime couple?

    Jinto x Lafiel.

    12. Who is your favourite anime animal?

    The white space whale in Macross Dynamite 7.

    13. What anime would make a good game?

    Macross. Gundam. Super Robot Wars answered the question really: ANIME WITH ROBOTS IN THEM. FIGHTING.

    14. What game would make a good anime?

    Final Fantasy Tactics.

    15. What is the first anime you ever watched?

    Mazinger Z.

    16. Do you think you’ll ever stop watching anime?

    No.

    17. What is your favourite genre of anime?

    GIANT ROBOTS.

    18. What is your least favourite genre of anime?

    Horror. Can’t really get into it.

    19. Are you open about watching anime with people you know?

    I watch with my wife.

    20. Have you ever been to Japan?

    No.

    21. What anime was the biggest letdown for you?

    Nisemonogatari.

    22. What anime was better than expected?

    Bakemonogatari.

    23. What is the best anime fight scene?

    Macross Plus Isamu vs. Guld.

    24. Who is your anime waifu?

    Cast my wife in an anime and we’ll talk.

    25. What was your favourite video game as a child?

    Legend of Kage.

    26. Most embarrassing moment?

    My Catholic School is co-ed, but it has an all boys brother school and an all girls sister school. We had a debate competition at our brother school and we WON as the away team even though I got pwnd during my cross (Oregon-Oxford format). After the debate we sang our anthem (the Bedan Hymn) not noticing the dissimilarity in the pronouns used in the song… “boyhood” for “childhood” for example.

    But the big moment was the last note. I was on stage, right next to the podium with an active microphone. The hall hit the last note basso and low… except me…

    I hit that note a full octave higher than everyone else.

    Fuck.

    My.

    Life.

    The next year I met a whole lot of those dudes in university. They never let me forget it. So much for a fresh start in life.

    27. Can you drive?

    Yes, I have a driver’s license.

    28. Are you mature?

    Yes.

    29. What year were you born?

    1977.

    30. Do you prefer dogs or cats?

    Dogs. Best friends, etc. I have an albino hedgehog named Hedwig though, and a cat named Suzaku.

    31. Describe yourself physically

    No need. You can see my photo on my profile picture.

    32. What would you name your first child?

    My daughter’s name is Maria Alejandra.

    33. What is the worst injury you’ve ever had?

    Broke my shoulder and collar bone in a car accident when I was five.

    34. What is your worst habit?

    Cigarettes.

    35. Do you drink or smoke?

    Yes.

    36. Do you have a tattoo?

    No.

    37. Are you a morning or a night person?

    Morning.

    38. Have you ever slept past midday?

    I must have.

    39. Do you regret anything?

    Sometimes.

    40. Can you count the number of friends that you have on one hand?

    I’ve had many friends. Harder to keep up as we all grow older though.

    41. Do you wear glasses?

    Yes.

    42. Are you a picky eater?

    No.

    43. Would you die for someone?

    Yes.

    44. If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

    Flight.

    45. Do you believe in the supernatural?

    No.

    46. Would you rather be rich or famous?

    Rich.

    47. Have you ever committed a crime?

    No.

    48. Time traveller or ghost?

    Time traveller. I am already a ghost.

    49. Does anybody have a crush on you?

    Yes. It happens sometimes.

    50. Are you in a relationship?

    Yes.

  2. >>Are you open about watching anime with people you know?

    Ambiguous question here. Interesting to see how different people read it.

    • It is ambiguous. I took it to be that perennial question: “Do you hide the fact that you watch anime or not?”

  3. You got one hot and mysterious wife there AK…

  4. Baron Ashura! I suppose that definitely counts, though mindblowing.

  5. Re 6: Asuka vs. the Masspro Evas in End of Evangelion ftw. This is my favourite anime scene and I’m glad that you cherish it as well!

  6. I’m so mad at myself for going “wait, there’s a pic of him and his wife?! Must see!!!”

  7. What does Anthy do that makes her worth any affection at all? I seriously don’t get it.

  8. Wow, that TATU video was intriguing to say the least. I don’t even know why I watched it…but I did and now I’m really curious. What ever became of them? Did they fizzle out like most hotshot rebel bands? Also, why do you associate them with your experience in Japan?

    • I’m glad you did watch it. That was the idea. If you like Japanese comedy I’ve got plenty of good stuff (subbed) on my youtube channel~

      tatu’s broken up and each of the women is trying to do their own thing. my guess is they’ll see the error of their ways and get back together by next year…

      I was in Japan in 2002, so there’s that association. It would take too long to explain the rest, but in general I can say that being in Japan it can get really confusing where you stand (how you are viewed by the population) and it is very easy to misread what people think of you. As a foreigner, you have much more leeway in your daily life than the locals do, but foreigners still keep taking it too far. The other side of the coin is the foreigner who tries to act and behave like a Japanese. Often this ends in bitter disappointment when s/he realizes that (despite all the praise) people still see you as different and alien and, worse of all, they sometimes prefer you to act differently than to act like them. And so on and so forth. The successful expat is the one who knows when to act Japanese and when to act gaijin. It’s a magical formula very few attain. I certainly never did.

  9. […] For some personal info and my views on anime, read: 50 Questions, Answered. […]

  10. […] For more about myself, go [here]. […]

Leave a Reply

 
