Anime Blogger Interrogation Game

My blog mascot is a Revolutionary Girl Utena fan?? Go figure!!

Since it was NewAnime Thursday that tagged me for this, I think it’s appropriate to respond on a Thursday.  Here are the rules:

  • Each person is supposed to follow the rule of fives.You are allowed to ask 5 questions, after which you can tag up to 5 bloggers by hyper-linking to their blog; 5 questions because it’s not too many to flood another blogger and occupy too much of his/her time, but yet a large enough number to ask your most important questions, and 5 bloggers to avoid spamming. Hence, prioritize your questions, and who you wish to ask!
  • Those tagged are obliged to answer the questions in a blog post, and after which, they are entitled to create their own 5 questions and tag 5 other bloggers, so on and so fourth. You are allowed to tag the person that tagged you in the first place. Also, copy and paste this section on your blog so others can understand how the game goes.
  • In the case where a blogger strongly refuses to answer a question, he/she must instead post a nice anime image, wallpaper or cosplay picture, et cetera in response to that question.
  • To make things interesting, a blogger can include wildcards in his/her 5 questions by placing an asterisk, (*), after which those tagged are obliged to reveal something interesting about themselves that others did not previously know. There is no limit to the number of asterisks one can place (which means there can be up to 5 wildcard questions).
  • Anyone can feel free to start the game; you don’t necessarily need someone to tag you. Just create your 5 questions and tag your 5 people of choice. However, the catch is that you must answer your own 5 questions as well.
  • To potentially prevent an endless game, this round of games will end on the 8th September 2012, 12pm JST (GMT +9). After which, no more bloggers can tag others to answer their questions.

Here are BeldenOtaku‘s questions and my answers:

1. Do you consider any single series unwatchable?

The answer is no, I don’t consider any single series unwatchable, I consider most of them unwatchable 😉  I’d rather miss 5 awesome series than sit through a horrible one, so I tend to be rather paranoid in my choices.  Yes, I know this sounds stupid.

2. Is there a single series that spring-boarded you, per se, into a wider obsession with anime?

Maybe Neon Genesis Evangelion.  After watching that, I remember being obsessed with watching stuff that was as good.  It’s been a tough journey but there are definitely such shows around.

3. Name an anime/manga character (from any series) that most closely matches you in appearance (or in personality, if you want).

There are no anime characters that look like me, simply because all anime characters either look like a) super gorgeous fantasy Westerners or b) Japanese people, and I resemble neither.  As I grow older, however, I do more and more resemble one of the infamous potato people from Leiji Matsumoto anime (e.g. Dr. Sado in Space Battleship Yamato, but with not-so-squinty eyes).

4. When you read other bloggers’ posts about a series you are also watching, if they post about an episode you have yet to see, do you read it, or do you avoid it until you’ve written your own post about it?

Here’s my process.  Step one: watch show; step two: read what the blogs say; step three: write my own post on it.

5. If you could be present at any point on the Earth, at any point in time, when and where would you go? Explain.

Given a completely open choice, I’d want to go back in time and join Alcibiades‘ posse back in Greece.  Hanging out with Socrates, switching allegiances between Athens, Sparta and Persia, defacing statues and desecrating rites (allegedly), partying like it’s 399 BC…I don’t think it’ll ever get better than that.  If we restrict it to Japanese history, then I would like to witness the Battle of Dannoura in 1185, embedded on the Taira side for full tragic effect.

***

Here are my five questions:

1. DREAM: You go to the bathroom and hear the sound of water.  You open the door and to your utter amazement __________ is using your shower and smiling at you.  [Fill in the blank with an anime character of your choice]

2. NIGHTMARE: You go to the bathroom and hear the sound of water.  You open the door and to your utter amazement __________ is using your shower and smiling at you.  [Fill in the blank with an anime character of your choice]

3. Why do anime characters have such big eyes?

4. What anime series, if mentioned in a conversation as “a good show” or “a fun show” or “actually OK” or “not that bad”, will most likely make you throw up because of the horrible taste the person speaking evidently has?

5. Does watching anime in the nude enhance your viewing experience in any way?  How so?  Explain in detail and/or with pictures.

Now I tag the following people:

ayame of The Beautiful World

Baka-Raptor

digibro of My Sword is Unbelievably Dull

ghostlightning of We Remember Love

kluxorius of conspicuous klux

 

~ by Haloed Bane on August 23, 2012.

25 Responses to “Anime Blogger Interrogation Game”

  1. I was wondering about your prediliction for potato people. Now the awful truth is known.

    As far as why manga and anime characters have such big eyes, I think there are two reasons:
    1. Osamu Tezuka liked the character design for Betty Boop and incorporated it into his own character designs. Everyone followed Tezuka. They don’t call him the god of manga for nothing. The interesting thing about Betty Boop is that at the time she was created, human figures tended to have eyes of normal human proportions, but animal characters tended to have big round eyes. Betty was actually supposed to be an animal chracter and was designed that way by the artist, but the director wanted a human character, so the artist redesigned the character but kept the big eyes. So anime characters have big eyes because Betty Boop started life as a dog. This is my understanding of what happened. There is an interesting Wikipedia page on Betty, which states she started as an anthropromorphized French poodle.
    2. The practice persists because it is a cheap and easy way to establish character traits and differentiate among characters, important considerations in a weekly program. The more innocent the character is, for instance, the larger and rounder (i.e., the more infantile) will be the eyes, whereas the more evil the character, the more narrow the eyes. Decisive characters tend to have an eye shape somewhere between round and narrow.

    • Oooh, very interesting. Betty rocks in so many ways. Now that you’ve given us a satisfying, utterly correct response, I hope the bloggers strive to come up with ridiculous yet funny ones..

      • I just thought it was a quick way of establishing emotion? As a primarily Leiji-fan, Harlock’s a prime candidate for emotive eye(s) but for Leijiverse anime the all-time winner for expression via eyeball is Danguard’s Captain Dan (mostly because he spends so much screen time encased in an iron mask…) – a show I wrote off a few years back for an off-putting cartoonish art-style recently wowed me on a re-viewing for just how damn subtle it can be in the details, and Dantetsu’s eyes are one of ’em!

        The shower scene questions are a giggle! Seriously – dream character? Before last month, SSX’s Harlock, but right now: Cobra. Pre-surgery by preference (space pirates with long flowing locks always a winner!) but I’d take the goofy version as well… Although I’d take Danguard’s Ichimonji Dantetsu in a heartbeat… 😉 Ahhhh… episode 4…

        Nightmare scenario? Tochiro or Yattaran.

        Lack of taste scenario? I might laugh my arse off at a few choices, but since I rarely bother looking at anything I don’t personally like or haven’t seen, there are few shows on my radar that I abhor. The one guaranteed to make me walk away from the speaker would be Harlock Saga – especially if they waxed lyrical about the American dub… on which note – almost ANY american dub will do the trick!

        • Yattaran playing with a Yamato model..Antares crabs swimming beneath the surface..I can see it now. Is Danguard really that good??

          • Danguard? Let’s just say parts of it are astonishingly, breathtakingly good – when the studio execs aren’t looking! 😉 Especially during the 1st 35 episodes! Even the artwork has moments of brilliance (despite a massive run on apple green paint…)

  2. This is has BeldenOtaku’s Seal of Approval (even if that devalues the post)
    :3

  3. If you were to ask me who is my dream shower girl, I would have to say Maetel; there she stands with that long, long hair and the soulful, maternal eyes. Also, she is an established actress for shower scenes. I can’t recall how many she had in Galaxy Express 999; that is, when she isn’t flying around in the eye catches in her black bikini underwear.

    But if you were to ask me who is my nighmare shower girl, it would also be Maetel, because I know (having seen the show) that behind the soft maternal eyes she is thinking how well I would look if I were partified.

  4. […] been called for interrogation by animekritik as part of some anime blogger circle thing. It’s the first I’ve heard of […]

  5. Digibro has a somewhat less technical explanation for the analysis of anime eyes than mine, but it is insightful and accurate as far as it goes.

  6. […] though I wasn’t tagged, I couldn’t resist, AnimeKritik’s questions are just TOO AWESOME not to answer… I’m not starting a new interrogation or reposting […]

  7. It would have been a tad hard for Alcibiades to party like it was 399BC considering he died in 404BC but I see your point. Imagine knocking down a couple of honey meads with Socrates, heh? My only fear would be the old man getting a bit frisky in the early hours of the morning. Those ancient Greeks were a predatory bunch.

    Awesome questions you pose AK. I’ll be looking forward to what people answer there.

    • Prince was partying like it was 1999 back in 1982, why couldn’t Alcibiades party like it was 399BC in, say, 412BC? Oh, Socrates was frisky all right. But as long as Alcibiades was around he wouldn’t have laid eyes on you at all, so it’s cool.

      Digibro’s answers are rather shocking, and Belden came up with some interest shower screenshots.

  8. I just saw that you tagged me through my stats of incoming visits ^^” My blog is not on WordPress, remember? But even so I’ll have to limit my answer here, since real life has started getting demanding + depressing.

    1. Caldina from Magic Knight Rayearth was my first thought most probably because I’m watching the series right now- I wouldn’t mind the playful exotic beauty inviting me to… uhm join her in a refreshing shower. Michiru from Sailor Moon would do as fine. I can’t imagine Horo in my modern bath for some reason… If you ask for a character of the opposite sex, that would probably be Rakushun from 12 Kingdoms in his human form ofc. Or Narihira from Utakoi ❤ smexiness *sigh*

    2. That turtle monster from Go Nagai… or Ashitare from Fushigi Yuugi.

    3. To be able to see their love interests. In order for all the stars of the universe to fit in their eyes. To cry overdramatic by producing torrents…

    4. I may rant for different shows but I'm not sure I can't find understanding in what others like in what I didn't… so, I'll say most probably Genji Monogatari the old movie and Hoshi ou Kodomo :/

    5. You want hentai picture supply, you naughty boy? 😛

    • You have enough characters there for a shower party!! Who’s the naughty one here, I ask you~

      • What’s wrong with a shower party then? 😉 Although as it’s anime we’re talking about, shouldn’t it be a hot springs scenario…? (In which case… oooh mama, my list just got a bit more diverse…)

        • Talk about a good aniblog post theme: design your own hot springs scenario. Hmm…

          • I used to post on the old alt.drwho.creative newsnet area, and we had a pub/bar outside continuity (“This Time Round”) setting for characters (including crossover characters (mostly anime) and author avatars, all aware they were fictional characters) where anything goes – it took on a life of its own in terms of fanfic to the point where I don’t think there were many in-universe fanfics being posted (and it did get wild, wacky and seriously fun with the 4th wall usually nowhere to be found and abounding with in-jokes…!)

            It just struck me that the anime alternative would in fact be a bath-house of some description…! “Toki no Wa” bathhouse, anyone?

Leave a Reply

 
