Trapeze Ends

…and it was fun.  The show didn’t reach any sublime heights (far from it) nor did it plunge into the darkest depths either (even farther from this!) but the animation was good and the story was entertaining.

more than meets the eye?

If anything, the last episode (11) left Dr. Irabu an even more enigmatic persona than we had thought.  His vice-chairmanship of the hospital makes one think that the whole place is his playground and he is a Jester God or a Loki running around the halls at will.  I might be reading too much into things, but I had a sense at the end of the episode that there was a hint of an insinuation that nurse Mayumi was in fact the real expert and the power behind the funky throne.

The trite phrase “No one is perfect” makes me nauseous (vitamin shot please!!) but it’s effective here because this is what all of Irabu’s patients need to get through their heads.  The canary motif was nice and appropriate too.

All in all, I would have liked more background on Irabu and Mayumi and I’d have preferred if the last episode concentrated on the Christmas party and interactions between the different (and now somewhat recovered) patients but oh well….maybe we can look forward to a second season!

or is it less?

~ by Haloed Bane on January 4, 2010.

16 Responses to “Trapeze Ends”

  1. >>animation was good

    really now…

    I will finish Trapeze on my way through my completionist list, but I’m disappointed to hear you and others who loved the show at the start becoming less excited about it as it went on. I’m guessing I won’t have the material to do episodic blogging on the rest?

    • Ha! Let me rephrase that: “art was interesting”.

      Um, I guess the novelty wore off after a while. It was nice, but in no way epic.

  2. I need to catch up. Dammit.

  3. Second Season vote +1

    I’m actually more interested in the shots. It takes effect on people without problems, people who have problems, and even people WHO ARE ABOUT TO HAVE problems. And his forms are ever the mischief-makers regardless of the situation.

    Mayumi? Probably the only valid sex object in the series.

  4. The boner episode was a “sublime height” for me.

  5. I think I liked this series more than I might have otherwise because I readjusted my expectations after the first episode, since it came off to me more like a dark comedy with a heart than something that would be a deep examination of humanity. It’s a bit disappointing that the series could have been more than it is, but what it is is still entertaining regardless.

  6. I certainly enjoyed the case of the week approach. It was the right kind of episodic show that I wouldn’t mind tuning in every week infinity times.

    • i would have gotten sick of the same format after a while, without any irabu/mayumi development.

  7. I still have to watch this….NOT ENOUGH TIME!!!

Leave a comment