Aku no Hana 13 (END)

vlcsnap-2013-07-04-11h34m16s129

I have three things to say about this final episode, and I’ll start at the end:

1. I applaud the decision to give us a taste of the future.  There was obviously no time to dwell at length on what happens next in the manga, so why not give us a taste at least?  The worst thing that can happen, and the most likely at this point, is that a second season will never occur.  Therefore the best the show can do is push the manga on us and say, “Hey, there’s all of this neat stuff happening.  Why don’t you go and check it out?”  Best case scenario is people are interested enough to make a second season viable, at which point I don’t think anyone would demand the animators reuse those snippets as is.  I guess someone could argue that they should have given us closure, but that would have run against the original manga (usually a bad idea) and it would have definitely sucked.  How could they possibly wrap things up at this point without some epically terrible deus ex machina?  What, they all form a band and play at the school festival?  Please.

2. Nakamura’s diary was totally moe.  Its contents can only reinforce Kasuga’s belief in his new found role of protector of the girl.  That is, of course, unless she lied while writing it and then left it around just in case he’d see it.  But she ain’t that smart, right?  Probably not.

3. Nakamura’s room was surprisingly..empty.  It reminded me a lot of Ayanami Rei’s living situation over in Evangelion.  But to me the most unexpected development was Kasuga’s initial reaction: commenting on how the room smelled of Nakamura and then blushing.  Classic pervy thing to do and circumstantial evidence in support of Nakamura’s characterization of the boy to Saeki.  As is of course the fact that he barges into her room in the first place.

The flash-forwards promise a great spectacle that will likely never air on screen; let’s hope manga sales rise at least.

~ by Haloed Bane on July 4, 2013.

4 Responses to “Aku no Hana 13 (END)”

  1. I for one would be really interested in a second season of this series. I’d really like to see what’s on the other side of the hill.

    I’d love to see more studios/directors take artistic chances like the team behind Aku no Hana did. It’s a shame that there was such an aggressive initial outcry in the anime fandom towards what is IMO, a great series.

    • I’d love to see a second season, too, alas. I just don’t see anything nearly as interesting coming up this summer season..

  2. Vertical, the publisher of the English version of Aku no Hana (The Flowers of Evil), has confirmed a positive correlation to the airing of this anime and manga sales. I hope it’s the same in Japan!

    • I saw a Japanese thread stating that manga sales were soaring. Apparently, the manga was 44th in sales before the anime, and now it’s 17th in sales. So I think it’s definitely having a positive effect, and this last episode can only help that trend. So the mangaka will be happy, though I don’t know if the animators will be as satisfied.

Leave a comment